NTR Kathanayakudu Review   |   Petta Review   |   VVR Review

Four More Congress MLAs Defect From Party to Join BJP in Manipur

Imphal: A month after arriving at the helm of affairs in Manipur, the Bhartiya Janata Party on Friday consolidated its position when four more Congress MLAs joined the party, taking its tally to 28.

The lone Trinamool Congress MLA also defected from the party and joined the N. Biren Singh-led government. Two Congress MLAs had joined the BJP earlier, too.

"It shows that more and more elected representatives now trust Narendra Modi's leadership and the developmental works undertaken by him," IANS quoated Chief Minister N. Biren Singh as saying.

  The Congress MLAs, Y. Surchandra, Ngamthang Haokip, O. Lukhoi and S. Bira, were felicitated by Chief Minister N. Biren Singh and Manipur BJP president K. Bhabanada.

The Trinamool Congress in Manipur also merged with the BJP on Friday. Accordingly, its lone MLA, Robindro Singh, is now a BJP legislator, taking its strength in the 60-member house to 28.

  T. Shyamkumar was the first Congress MLA to join the BJP after the assembly elections. He was sworn in as a cabinet minister on March 15. Shyamkumar was followed by Ginsuanhau Zou.

In the March election, the Congress, which was then in power, bagged 28 seats to finish as the single largest group.

But the BJP, which secured 21 seats, joined hands with other parties to form the government.

State Congress President T.N. Haokip said: "Things have changed after the election. Friends have become foes. There is nothing called principle or ideology. Those who crossed the floor are not afraid of disqualification."

Meanwhile, Speaker Y. Khemchand is examining two petitions seeking disqualification of Shyamkumar and Zou.
Prev Post Amazon Set To Overtake Local Rival Flipkart
Next Post Mufti claims crackdown on Jamaat-e-Islami J&K leaders will only ‘precipitate matters’


Click here to Write a comment ...
Post comment
    Please submit your comments.